Match the batch
The batch or lot number on the report should match the one printed on your package. A report for a different batch tells you nothing about your bottle.
Enter delta-9 THC and THCA from the lab report and the package size. You get total THC, today's 0.3% test, and the 0.4 mg per container cap that starts December 11, 2026.
Total THC = delta-9 THC + 0.877 × THCA. Federal hemp rules (7 CFR 990.1) define total THC as delta-9 THC plus the THC that THCA turns into when heated; labs that test without heat apply the 0.877 factor, the share of THCA's weight that remains as delta-9 THC after heating.
| Product | Lab report | Total THC per container | 0.4 mg cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-spectrum oil, 30 ml | 0.2% delta-9, 0% THCA | about 55 mg | Over |
| Broad-spectrum or isolate oil, 30 ml | no THC detected | 0 mg | Pass |
| Hemp gummy pack, 60 g | 2.5 mg/g delta-9 | 150 mg | Over |
| THCA flower, 3.5 g | 0.2% delta-9, 18% THCA | about 560 mg (16% total THC) | Over |
Oil converted at 0.92 g per ml. Rounded; run your own numbers above.
You need two lines from the potency panel and the package size.
The batch or lot number on the report should match the one printed on your package. A report for a different batch tells you nothing about your bottle.
They sit in the potency (cannabinoid) table, usually as "Δ9-THC" and "THCA". Some reports already show a "Total THC" line; it should match what the calculator gives you.
Reports use percent or mg/g. 1% equals 10 mg/g. Switch the calculator's unit to match the report instead of converting by hand.
ND means not detected and <LOQ means below what the lab can measure. Enter 0, knowing a trace may still be there.
Federal rules require hemp labs to report total THC with its measurement of uncertainty, and a result passes when that range includes 0.3% or less. A report at 0.31% can still pass; one at 0.5% will not.
Today a hemp product passes if delta-9 THC is 0.3% or less by dry weight. From December 11, 2026, the 0.3% test counts total THC (THCA included), and finished products must also stay at or under 0.4 mg of total THC per container.
Section 781 of Public Law 119-37 rewrote the federal definition of hemp; H.R. 6500, section 2019, moved most of it to December 11, 2026. Both are listed with their official links on our law changes and sources page. For the full story, read the federal hemp ban explained.
States can be stricter than federal law. 19 already cap THC in milligrams per serving, package or container, and 6 allow no THC at all in some or all hemp products. Each line comes from that state's checked guide.
| State | THC limit | Minimum age | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 0.3% total delta-9 THC; 10 mg total THC per serving, 40 mg per packagemg cap | 21+ | Sep 28 |
| Alaska | No delta-9 THC (THCA counted) in consumable hemp; 0.3% for raw hemp | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Arizona | 0.3% delta-9 THC (dry weight) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Arkansas | 1 mg total THC per container, CBD:THC over 15:1 (consumable hemp)mg cap | 21+ | Sep 30 |
| California | No detectable THC in foods, drinks and supplements; 0.3% total THC in topicals | 21+ | Sep 28 |
| Colorado | 1.75 mg THC per serving (THCA counts) and CBD:THC of 15:1 or more; hemp plant 0.3% delta-9mg cap | 21+ label if over 1.25 mg THC per serving and under 20:1 CBD:THC | Sep 30 |
| Connecticut | 5 mg THC per container max outside cannabis stores; 0.3% total THC flowermg cap | No age limit for CBD; 21+ for products with THC | Sep 30 |
| Delaware | 0.3% delta-9 | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| District of Columbia | No hemp exception in DC law | 21+ (possession only) | Sep 30 |
| Florida | 0.3% total delta-9 THC (delta-9 + 0.877 x THCA); extracts on a wet-weight basis | 21+ | Sep 30 |
| Georgia | 0.3% total delta-9 THC; per-product mg caps | 21+ | Sep 28 |
| Hawaii | 0.3% total THC; edibles 1 mg per serving, 5 mg per packagemg cap | 21+ for tinctures; no state minimum for other hemp products | Sep 30 |
| Idaho | 0% THC in finished hemp products | Not stated | Sep 28 |
| Illinois | 0.3% delta-9 THC (until Nov 11, 2026); then 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg per containermg cap | 21+ for products over 0.4 mg THC; no state minimum for low-THC CBD | Sep 30 |
| Indiana | 0.3% total delta-9 THC (incl. precursors such as THCA) | Not stated | Sep 28 |
| Iowa | 0.3% total THC, max 4 mg per serving and 10 mg per containermg cap | 21+ | Sep 28 |
| Kansas | 0.3% THC (THCA and other acids counted) | No state minimum found | Sep 30 |
| Kentucky | 0.3% delta-9 (statute); 0.3% total THC for delta-9 and THCA products | 21+ for THC products; no state minimum for CBD | Sep 30 |
| Louisiana | 0.3% total THC; 5 mg total THC per serving, 40 mg per package (tinctures 1 mg per serving)mg cap | 21+ | Sep 30 |
| Maine | 0.3% delta-9 | No state minimum for CBD; 21+ for intoxicating hemp | Sep 30 |
| Maryland | 0.5 mg THC per serving and 2.5 mg per package outside dispensariesmg cap | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Massachusetts | Under 0.3% total THC in finished hemp products | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Michigan | 0.3% THC, counting THCA and isomers like delta-8 | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Minnesota | 5 mg THC per serving, 50 mg per package; 10 mg per drink; inhalable hemp 0.3% THCmg cap | 21+ | Sep 30 |
| Mississippi | 0.3% delta-9 | Not stated | Sep 30 |
| Missouri | 0.3% delta-9 THC today; HB 2641 adds 0.3% total THC incl. THCA and 0.4 mg per containermg cap | No state minimum today; 21+ from Nov 12, 2026 (HB 2641) | Sep 30 |
| Montana | No total delta-9 THC in consumer hemp products | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Nebraska | 0.3% delta-9 | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Nevada | 0.3% total THC (counts THCA, delta-8 and delta-10) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| New Hampshire | 0.3% delta-9 (hemp); 0.3% THC incl. delta-8 and isomers (products) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| New Jersey | 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg total THC per containermg cap | 21+ for any product with detectable THC | Sep 30 |
| New Mexico | 0.3% total THC under NMED's hemp rule | No state minimum for hemp; 21+ for cannabis | Sep 30 |
| New York | 0.3% total THC (THCA counts) | 21+ for flower, vapes and products over 0.5 mg THC per serving | Sep 30 |
| North Carolina | 0.3% delta-9 | Not stated | Sep 28 |
| North Dakota | 0.3% total THC; 5 mg total THC per servingmg cap | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Ohio | 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg total THC per containermg cap | Not stated | Sep 28 |
| Oklahoma | 0.3% total delta-9 THC (incl. THCA) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Oregon | 0.3% total THC (THCA counted); 2 mg per serving, 20 mg per container (tinctures 100 mg)mg cap | 21+ for products with 0.5 mg or more total THC; no state minimum below that | Sep 30 |
| Pennsylvania | 0.3% THC (PDA counts THCA) | Not stated | Sep 28 |
| Rhode Island | Total THC: 1 mg per serving, 5 mg per package; tinctures 100 mgmg cap | 21+ for ingestible CBD products | Sep 30 |
| South Carolina | 0.3% delta-9 | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| South Dakota | 0.3% total THC | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Tennessee | 0.3% total THC (delta-9 + 0.877 x THCA), dry weight | 21+ | Sep 30 |
| Texas | 0.3% delta-9 | 21+ | Sep 24 |
| Utah | 0.3% total THC incl. THCA; 5 mg THC per serving, 150 mg per packagemg cap | 21+ | Sep 28 |
| Vermont | 0.3% total THC (THCA counts); 1.5 mg THC per serving and 10 mg per packagemg cap | No state minimum for most CBD; 21+ for vapes | Sep 30 |
| Virginia | 0.3% total THC (incl. THCA) and 2 mg total THC per packagemg cap | 21+ for THC-containing and smokable hemp; no stated minimum for THC-free CBD | Sep 30 |
| Washington | No detectable THC in ingested or inhaled hemp products; 0.3% THC in topicals | No state minimum for THC-free CBD; 21+ in cannabis stores | Sep 30 |
| West Virginia | 0.3% total THC | 21+ for products with hemp-derived THC cannabinoids | Sep 30 |
| Wisconsin | 0.3% delta-9 THC by dry weight (tested after heating) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
| Wyoming | 0.3% total THC (THCA and delta-8 counted) | No state minimum | Sep 30 |
No state matches. Clear the search to see all 51.
Every state also gets the federal 0.4 mg per container cap from December 11, 2026, whatever its own rule says.
Open these official sources, with links, on our verification page →
General information, not legal or medical advice. The calculators work only from the numbers you enter.
Total THC = delta-9 THC + 0.877 × THCA. The 0.877 factor is the share of THCA's weight that remains as delta-9 THC after heating. Use the two numbers from the product's lab report (COA).
From December 11, 2026, a finished hemp product can hold no more than 0.4 mg of total THC in the whole container under the new federal hemp definition (section 781 of Public Law 119-37, with the H.R. 6500 delay). Above that it no longer counts as hemp under federal law.
Usually. A 30 ml bottle at 0.2% delta-9 THC holds about 55 mg of THC, far above 0.4 mg. Broad-spectrum and isolate oils with no detectable THC stay under it.
No. It checks the two federal tests from the numbers you enter. Your state can add its own limits, such as an age minimum or a per-serving cap. Check your state on the CBD law map.
Lab reports give THC by weight. The calculator converts ml of oil to grams at 0.92 g per ml, a typical figure for MCT-based tinctures. If the label gives grams, choose grams.
ND means not detected; <LOQ means below the lab's limit of quantitation. Enter 0 for that line, and remember the product may still hold a trace the test could not measure.
Divide by 10. 2.5 mg/g is 0.25%; 3 mg/g is 0.3%. The calculator does this for you if you switch the unit to mg/g.
Almost never. Total THC counts THCA, so flower with 18% THCA tests around 16% total THC, far above the 0.3% limit, and a 3.5 g bag holds about 560 mg.