CBD and hemp law changes, by state.

Every change we track, newest first, with the date it takes effect, and every official source behind each state's answer. This is the one page where we link out to them. Last checked by the canary. editorial desk.

Federal

0.4 mg total THC per container from December 11, 2026

Verified

Federal law decides what counts as hemp. Hemp-derived CBD has been legal since 2018; the definition tightens in two steps at the end of 2026.

  1. Scheduled

    New federal hemp definition takes effect: total THC (THCA counts), 0.4 mg total THC per container, converted cannabinoids like delta-8 excluded

    H.R. 6500, section 2019
  2. Scheduled

    Cannabinoids the plant can't produce at all, such as THC-O, lose federal hemp status

    H.R. 6500, section 2019
  3. H.R. 6500 signed: most of the new hemp definition delayed from November 12 to December 11, 2026

    H.R. 6500, section 2019
  4. Public Law 119-37 signed: section 781 rewrites the federal definition of hemp, effective in one year

    7 U.S.C. 1639o, as amended
  5. 2018 Farm Bill signed: hemp at 0.3% delta-9 THC or less removed from the Controlled Substances Act

    Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018
Federal hemp ban, explained

Alabama

Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total delta-9 THC; 10 mg total THC per serving, 40 mg per package

Verified

  1. Legal with limits

    Consumable hemp products may only be sold by ABC Board licensed retailers to adults 21+, with 10 mg total THC per serving and 40 mg per package caps, and online sales, delivery and shipping into the state banned.

    Source: Alabama Legislature, HB445 (2025 Regular Session), enrolled: Consumable hemp products, Title 28 Chapter 12

  2. Not legal

    HB 445 took effect: smokable hemp (flower, buds, joints, pre-rolls) and chemically converted cannabinoids are excluded from legal hemp products, and their sale or possession is prohibited.

    Source: Alabama Legislature, HB445 (2025 Regular Session), enrolled: Consumable hemp products, Title 28 Chapter 12

Is CBD legal in Alabama? Full answer

Alaska

Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: No delta-9 THC (THCA counted) in consumable hemp; 0.3% for raw hemp

Verified

    Is CBD legal in Alaska? Full answer

    Arizona

    Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 THC (dry weight)

    Verified

    1. Not legal

      The Attorney General's March 24, 2025 warning said selling THC edibles and drinks, including delta-8 and delta-9 THC products, without a marijuana license is illegal, with enforcement from April 24, 2025.

      Source: Arizona Attorney General, Attorney General Mayes Warns Retailers and Law Enforcement About Illegal THC Product Sales (March 24, 2025)

    2. Not legal

      Attorney General Opinion I24-005 concluded that delta-8 and other hemp-synthesized intoxicants cannot legally be sold by anyone who is not a licensed cannabis seller.

      Source: Arizona Attorney General, Opinion I24-005 (R24-001): Sale of products containing delta-8 and other hemp-synthesized intoxicants

    Is CBD legal in Arizona? Full answer

    Arkansas

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 1 mg total THC per container, CBD:THC over 15:1 (consumable hemp)

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      Attorney General certified Act 934 of 2025 (Act's effective date not stated): consumable hemp needs a Tobacco Control permit, 21+ only, max 1 mg total THC per container; selling intoxicating hemp is a felony.

      Source: Arkansas Attorney General, Attorney General Griffin Certifies Act 934 of 2025 (April 22, 2026)

    2. Not legal

      The Eighth Circuit reversed the injunction against Act 629, Arkansas's 2023 ban on intoxicating hemp-derived THC; state enforcement began in mid-July 2025.

      Source: U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, Bio Gen LLC v. Sanders, No. 23-3237 (June 24, 2025)

    Is CBD legal in Arkansas? Full answer

    California

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: No detectable THC in foods, drinks and supplements; 0.3% total THC in topicals

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      (scheduled) Intoxicating hemp must be manufactured, tested and sold like medicinal and adult-use cannabis, inside the licensed cannabis market.

      Source: California Department of Cannabis Control, Hemp

    2. Legal with limits

      The Office of Administrative Law approves CDPH's rulemaking that adds more cannabinoids to California's definition of THC for hemp products.

      Source: California Department of Public Health, DPH-24-005 Emergency and Regular Rulemaking: Regulations for Industrial Hemp

    3. Legal with limits

      AB 8 takes effect: hemp flower, pre-rolls, inhalable hemp THC products and synthetic cannabinoids are banned, and hemp extract in foods and supplements must be CBD or CBN isolate above 99% purity with no THC.

      Source: California Department of Public Health, Assembly Bill 8 FAQ (Cannabis and Industrial Hemp)

    4. Legal with limits

      The Office of Administrative Law approves CDPH's permanent age 21 and serving-size hemp rules, replacing the emergency version.

      Source: California Department of Public Health, DPH-24-005 Emergency and Regular Rulemaking: Regulations for Industrial Hemp

    5. Legal with limits

      CDPH emergency rules take effect: hemp foods, drinks and supplements must have no detectable total THC, buyers must be 21+, and packages are capped at 5 servings.

      Source: California Department of Public Health, DPH-24-005 Emergency and Regular Rulemaking: Regulations for Industrial Hemp

    Is CBD legal in California? Full answer

    Colorado

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ label if over 1.25 mg THC per serving and under 20:1 CBD:THC · THC limit: 1.75 mg THC per serving (THCA counts) and CBD:THC of 15:1 or more; hemp plant 0.3% delta-9

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      CDPHE hemp product rules (6 CCR 1010-24) took effect: 1.75 mg THC per serving and 15:1 CBD to THC for hemp products, a 21+ label above 1.25 mg THC per serving with under 20:1, and hemp products that are synthetic cannabinoids banned.

      Source: Colorado Secretary of State (Code of Colorado Regulations), 6 CCR 1010-24 Colorado Hemp Products and Safe Harbor Hemp Products Regulations

    Is CBD legal in Colorado? Full answer

    Connecticut

    Legal with limits Min. age: No age limit for CBD; 21+ for products with THC · THC limit: 5 mg THC per container max outside cannabis stores; 0.3% total THC flower

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      Selling moderate-THC hemp products (0.5 to 5 mg THC per container) requires a cannabis license or a DCP vendor registration.

      Source: CT Department of Consumer Protection (CT.gov Cannabis portal), What is considered a high-THC hemp product? (March 25, 2026)

    2. Legal with limits

      THC-infused beverages may only be sold by licensed cannabis retailers and package stores.

      Source: CT Department of Consumer Protection (CT.gov Cannabis portal), THC-Infused Beverages: New Restrictions

    Is CBD legal in Connecticut? Full answer

    Delaware

    Legal Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      (scheduled) HB 373 takes effect: THC-infused drinks capped at 10 mg delta-9 extract per single-serving container (170 mg per 750 ml bottle), 21+, sold only in package stores and retail marijuana stores.

      Source: Delaware General Assembly, House Bill 373 (THC-infused beverages), signed July 23, 2026, 85 Del. Laws c. 394

    Is CBD legal in Delaware? Full answer

    District of Columbia

    Not legal Min. age: 21+ (possession only) · THC limit: No hemp exception in DC law

    Verified

    1. Not legal

      Emergency act (D.C. Act 26-391) took effect: a business that sells or delivers Schedule I substances, or products containing them, also counts as an unlicensed establishment for closure purposes. Expires October 28, 2026 unless replaced.

      Source: Council of the District of Columbia, D.C. Code 7-1671.01: Medical cannabis definitions (cannabis product, unlicensed establishment)

    2. Not legal

      ABC Board may fine unlicensed businesses that sell or otherwise commercially deal in cannabis: $10,000 first violation, rising to $30,000.

      Source: Council of the District of Columbia, D.C. Code 7-1671.08: Penalties; fines for unlicensed establishments

    Is CBD legal in District of Columbia? Full answer

    Florida

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total delta-9 THC (delta-9 + 0.877 x THCA); extracts on a wet-weight basis

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      FDACS amended rule 5K-4.034 again to clarify what counts as a "cartoon" under the ban on hemp products attractive to children.

      Source: Florida Department of State (Florida Administrative Code), Rule 5K-4.034: Hemp Extract for Human Consumption (rule history and effective dates)

    2. Legal with limits

      FDACS's amended hemp extract rule (5K-4.034) took effect, implementing the 2023 law changes: stricter child-appeal marketing, packaging and labeling rules for hemp extract.

      Source: Florida Department of State (Florida Administrative Code), Rule 5K-4.034: Hemp Extract for Human Consumption (rule history and effective dates)

    Is CBD legal in Florida? Full answer

    Georgia

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total delta-9 THC; per-product mg caps

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      Department of Agriculture Rule 40-32-5-.06 took effect: total delta-9 THC caps per gummy, package, beverage, tincture and topical.

      Source: Georgia Secretary of State (Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia), Chapter 40-32-5, incl. Rule 40-32-5-.06 serving limits

    2. Legal with limits

      SB 494 took effect: consumable hemp sales limited to adults 21+, total delta-9 THC (including THCA) used for the 0.3% limit, and new state licenses for manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers.

      Source: Georgia General Assembly, Senate Research Office, 2024 final passage report: SB 494 (21+, total THC incl. THCA, licenses)

    Is CBD legal in Georgia? Full answer

    Hawaii

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for tinctures; no state minimum for other hemp products · THC limit: 0.3% total THC; edibles 1 mg per serving, 5 mg per package

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      Grace period ends; DOH and the Attorney General begin enforcing hemp retailer and distributor registration statewide.

      Source: Office of the Governor of Hawaii, DOH and Attorney General announce hemp retail registration enforcement to begin July 1, 2026 (June 23, 2026)

    2. Legal with limits

      Hemp retailers, distributors and online sellers need a DOH Certificate of Registration to sell hemp edibles and beverages.

      Source: Hawaii Department of Health, Chapter 11-37 HAR, Hemp Processing and Manufactured Hemp Products (interim rules, effective January 28, 2026)

    3. Legal with limits

      Amended DOH hemp rules take effect, allowing hemp gummies and beverages with low amounts of THC.

      Source: Hawaii Department of Health, Consumers of Manufactured Hemp Products: Frequently Asked Questions

    Is CBD legal in Hawaii? Full answer

    Idaho

    Legal with limits Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0% THC in finished hemp products

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      House Bill 879 took effect: places selling hemp products meant to be eaten or inhaled are now subject to Idaho's Industrial Hemp Act (chapter 17), and those products must meet the state's controlled substance criteria. It creates no retailer license or age rule.

      Source: Idaho Legislature, House Bill 879 (2026): Industrial hemp

    Is CBD legal in Idaho? Full answer

    Illinois

    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for products over 0.4 mg THC; no state minimum for low-THC CBD · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 THC (until Nov 11, 2026); then 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg per container

    Verified

    1. Legal with limits

      (scheduled) The Illinois Hemp Act replaces the Industrial Hemp Act: hemp counts total THC including THCA, final products are capped at 0.4 mg total THC per container, and synthesized cannabinoids and products intended for smoking or vaping are excluded.

      Source: Illinois Department of Agriculture, Illinois Hemp Act (SB 3222, Public Act 104-0463) overview (June 2026)

    2. Legal with limits

      SB 3222 signed with immediate effect: cannabinoid products with more than 0.4 mg of THC or THC-like cannabinoids such as delta-8, THC-P, THC-O and HHC may be sold only to adults 21 and older, and new labeling rules apply.

      Source: Illinois Department of Agriculture, Informational bulletin, June 2026: Illinois Hemp Act overview

    Is CBD legal in Illinois? Full answer

    Indiana

    Legal with limits Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0.3% total delta-9 THC (incl. precursors such as THCA)

    Verified

      Is CBD legal in Indiana? Full answer

      Iowa

      Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total THC, max 4 mg per serving and 10 mg per container

      Verified

      1. Legal with limits

        HF 181 took effect: open containers of a beverage with any amount of THC are banned in a vehicle's passenger area, a simple misdemeanor.

        Source: Iowa Legislature, 2025 Iowa Acts chapter 9 (H.F. 181), THC beverage open containers

      2. Legal with limits

        HF 2605 took effect: 21+ age limit, 4 mg THC per serving and 10 mg per container caps, and a ban on synthetic hemp products such as delta-8.

        Source: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Consumable Hemp: HF 2605 FAQ (July 2024)

      Is CBD legal in Iowa? Full answer

      Kansas

      Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum found · THC limit: 0.3% THC (THCA and other acids counted)

      Verified

        Is CBD legal in Kansas? Full answer

        Kentucky

        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for THC products; no state minimum for CBD · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 (statute); 0.3% total THC for delta-9 and THCA products

        Verified

        1. Legal with limits

          THC-infused drinks (max 5 mg per 12 oz) may only be sold by ABC-licensed package stores, to adults 21+.

          Source: Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, Cannabis Infused Beverages Frequently Asked Questions (rev. 9-4-25)

        2. Legal with limits

          Stores and restaurants selling adult-use cannabinoid products need a CHFS permit, must check ID, and may not sell to anyone under 21.

          Source: Kentucky Legislature (Kentucky Administrative Regulations), 902 KAR 45:012 Retail sale and food service of hemp-derived cannabinoid products

        3. Legal with limits

          CHFS product rules took effect: every hemp-derived cannabinoid product sold in Kentucky must be registered, batch tested, and inhalables may not contain listed additives such as MCT, PEG or propylene glycol.

          Source: Kentucky Legislature (Kentucky Administrative Regulations), 902 KAR 45:021 Hemp-derived cannabinoid product registration, processing and manufacturing

        Is CBD legal in Kentucky? Full answer

        Louisiana

        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total THC; 5 mg total THC per serving, 40 mg per package (tinctures 1 mg per serving)

        Verified

        1. Legal with limits

          Act 233 of 2025 took effect: it became unlawful for anyone under 21 to buy or possess any consumable hemp product.

          Source: Louisiana State Legislature, R.S. 14:93.17 Purchase and possession of consumable hemp products by a minor

        2. Legal with limits

          Act 752 of 2024 took effect: consumable hemp sales limited to adults 21+, capped at 5 mg total THC per serving and 40 mg per package, with hemp flower, inhalable products and gas station sales banned.

          Source: Louisiana State Legislature, R.S. 3:1482 Consumable hemp products; prohibitions

        Is CBD legal in Louisiana? Full answer

        Maine

        Legal Min. age: No state minimum for CBD; 21+ for intoxicating hemp · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

        Verified

        1. Legal with limits

          Maine banned the sale of potentially intoxicating hemp products (delta-8, delta-9 and other THC forms) to anyone under 21 and required child-resistant packaging (PL 2025, c. 416, emergency law).

          Source: Maine Legislature, Public Law 2025, chapter 416 (LD 1920): An Act to Prohibit the Sale of Potentially Intoxicating Hemp Products to a Person Under 21 Years of Age

        Is CBD legal in Maine? Full answer

        Maryland

        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.5 mg THC per serving and 2.5 mg per package outside dispensaries

        Verified

        1. Legal with limits

          The Appellate Court of Maryland reversed a preliminary injunction that had blocked enforcing the state's licensing rule for hemp products over 0.5 mg THC per serving or 2.5 mg per package.

          Source: Appellate Court of Maryland, Moore v. Maryland Hemp Coalition, No. 1590, Sept. Term 2023 (September 9, 2025)

        2. Legal with limits

          Chapter 58 (SB 214) took effect: THC now includes delta-8, delta-9 and delta-10 however derived, and the ATCC can cite sellers and seize non-compliant products.

          Source: Maryland General Assembly, Chapter 58 of 2025 (Senate Bill 214): Cannabis, Sale and Distribution, Tetrahydrocannabinol Offenses

        Is CBD legal in Maryland? Full answer

        Massachusetts

        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: Under 0.3% total THC in finished hemp products

        Verified

        1. Legal with limits

          The state health and agriculture departments (May 29 notice, relayed by the alcohol commission May 30) said food and drinks with hemp-derived CBD or THC are unlawful and must come off the shelf immediately.

          Source: Massachusetts ABCC, Department of Public Health and Department of Agricultural Resources, Advisory regarding food and beverages containing hemp-derived CBD and/or THC (May 30, 2024)

        2. Legal with limits

          The state's 2024 Hemp Processor Policy took effect: finished hemp products must be under 0.3% total THC, and synthetic THC such as delta-8 may not be made or sold.

          Source: Massachusetts Department of Agricultural Resources, 2024 Hemp Processor Policy (effective April 3, 2024)

        Is CBD legal in Massachusetts? Full answer

        Michigan

        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% THC, counting THCA and isomers like delta-8

        Verified

          Is CBD legal in Michigan? Full answer

          Minnesota

          Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 5 mg THC per serving, 50 mg per package; 10 mg per drink; inhalable hemp 0.3% THC

          Verified

          1. Legal with limits

            (scheduled) Hemp edibles may combine CBD, CBG, CBN and CBC up to 400 mg, with up to 100 mg of each; THC limits stay at 5 mg per serving and 10 mg per drink.

            Source: Minnesota Revisor of Statutes, Laws of Minnesota 2026, chapter 123 (cannabis law changes)

          2. Legal with limits

            The product transition period ended: from April 1, 2026, licensed hemp edible retailers must operate under chapter 342 and sell only to adults 21 and older.

            Source: Minnesota Office of Cannabis Management, Hemp Businesses in Minnesota guide, version 1.4 (updated April 1, 2026)

          Is CBD legal in Minnesota? Full answer

          Mississippi

          Not legal Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

          Verified

          1. Not legal

            Attorney General's official opinion says selling hemp products for human ingestion or consumption that are not FDA-approved is prohibited outside licensed medical cannabis dispensaries

            Source: Mississippi Attorney General, Official opinion to Rep. Lee Yancey: Legality of hemp products for human ingestion and/or consumption (June 11, 2025)

          Is CBD legal in Mississippi? Full answer

          Missouri

          Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum today; 21+ from Nov 12, 2026 (HB 2641) · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 THC today; HB 2641 adds 0.3% total THC incl. THCA and 0.4 mg per container

          Verified

          1. Legal with limits

            (scheduled) HB 2641 takes effect: hemp-derived cannabinoid products become marijuana, sold only by Article XIV licensees, and may not be sold to anyone under 21. Synthesized cannabinoids, smokable or vapeable flower with any THCA and solid edibles with added hemp delta-9 are covered from day one; other products only while federal restrictions prohibit them.

            Source: Missouri House of Representatives, SS HCS HB 2641 (2026), truly agreed to and finally passed: Intoxicating Cannabinoid Control Act, section 195.900

          2. Legal with limits

            The Department of Health and Senior Services began embargoing foods that contain psychoactive cannabis products such as delta-8 from non-approved sources.

            Source: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, DHSS to begin unregulated psychoactive cannabis product enforcement efforts (Aug 29, 2024)

          Is CBD legal in Missouri? Full answer

          Montana

          Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: No total delta-9 THC in consumer hemp products

          Verified

          1. Legal with limits

            SB 375 took effect: hemp products containing total delta-9 THC may not be sold to consumers unless FDA-authorized.

            Source: Montana Legislature, SB 375 (2025), Chapter 394: Prohibiting the sale of hemp products that contain THC to consumers

          2. Not legal

            HB 49 took effect: adds storage to the synthetic cannabinoid ban and bars synthetic cannabinoid products from adult-use dispensaries.

            Source: Montana Department of Revenue, 2025 Legislative Updates: New Cannabis Laws in Montana

          Is CBD legal in Montana? Full answer

          Nebraska

          Legal Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

          Verified

            Is CBD legal in Nebraska? Full answer

            Nevada

            Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (counts THCA, delta-8 and delta-10)

            Verified

            1. Legal with limits

              AB 504 took effect: stores selling hemp products without a cannabis license must post 'not licensed to sell cannabis' signs and may not make false or misleading claims about hemp products.

              Source: Nevada Legislature, 83rd (2025) Session: Bills Signed by the Governor (AB 504, Chapter 484)

            Is CBD legal in Nevada? Full answer

            New Hampshire

            Legal Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 (hemp); 0.3% THC incl. delta-8 and isomers (products)

            Verified

              Is CBD legal in New Hampshire? Full answer

              New Jersey

              Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for any product with detectable THC · THC limit: 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg total THC per container

              Verified

              1. Legal with limits

                (scheduled) Hemp beverages over 0.4 mg total THC per container become cannabis and must be made by licensed Class 2 cannabis manufacturers; the liquor store window ends.

                Source: New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, Intoxicating Hemp-Derived Products FAQ

              2. Legal with limits

                Intoxicating hemp beverages capped at 5 mg total THC per serving and 10 mg per container.

                Source: New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, Intoxicating Hemp-Derived Products FAQ

              3. Legal with limits

                New hemp definition took effect: products over 0.3% total THC, over 0.4 mg total THC per container, or with synthesized cannabinoids are legally cannabis, not hemp.

                Source: New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, Intoxicating Hemp-Derived Products FAQ

              4. Legal with limits

                P.L.2026, c.7 amended the hemp law: hemp drinks capped at 5 mg THC per serving and 10 mg per container from May 31, and sold only by liquor licensees and cannabis retailers until November 13.

                Source: New Jersey Legislature, P.L.2026, c.7 (S3945): amendments to P.L.2025, c.215

              5. Legal with limits

                P.L.2025, c.215 took effect: online sales of hemp products, sales of any product with detectable THC to people under 21, and producing synthesized cannabinoids are banned.

                Source: New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission, Intoxicating Hemp-Derived Products FAQ

              Is CBD legal in New Jersey? Full answer

              New Mexico

              Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum for hemp; 21+ for cannabis · THC limit: 0.3% total THC under NMED's hemp rule

              Verified

              1. Legal with limits

                Permanent hemp rule: 0.3% total THC, 2 mg per serving and 20 mg per package caps; NM hemp facilities barred from semi-synthetics like delta-8

                Source: New Mexico Environment Department, 20.10.2 NMAC Hemp Post-Harvest Processing rule (effective January 28, 2026)

              2. Legal with limits

                NMED emergency hemp rule took effect for New Mexico hemp facilities, later made permanent

                Source: New Mexico Environment Department, Hemp Final Rule

              Is CBD legal in New Mexico? Full answer

              New York

              Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for flower, vapes and products over 0.5 mg THC per serving · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (THCA counts)

              Verified

                Is CBD legal in New York? Full answer

                North Carolina

                Legal Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

                Verified

                  Is CBD legal in North Carolina? Full answer

                  North Dakota

                  Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% total THC; 5 mg total THC per serving

                  Verified

                  1. Legal with limits

                    Department of Agriculture rules took effect: cannabinoid hemp products capped at 5 mg total THC per serving with a CBD to THC ratio above 15:1, plus lab report, labeling and child-resistant packaging rules.

                    Source: North Dakota Legislative Branch, N.D. Administrative Code Chapter 7-20-01: Cannabinoid hemp products (effective July 1, 2024)

                  Is CBD legal in North Dakota? Full answer

                  Ohio

                  Legal with limits Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0.3% total THC and 0.4 mg total THC per container

                  Verified

                  1. Legal with limits

                    Senate Bill 56 took effect: a final hemp product with more than 0.4 mg total THC per container, or any synthesized or non-natural cannabinoid, is no longer hemp in Ohio.

                    Source: Ohio Legislature (Ohio Laws), Ohio Revised Code section 928.01 Hemp definitions (effective March 20, 2026)

                  Is CBD legal in Ohio? Full answer

                  Oklahoma

                  Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% total delta-9 THC (incl. THCA)

                  Verified

                    Is CBD legal in Oklahoma? Full answer

                    Oregon

                    Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for products with 0.5 mg or more total THC; no state minimum below that · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (THCA counted); 2 mg per serving, 20 mg per container (tinctures 100 mg)

                    Verified

                    1. Legal with limits

                      OLCC began enforcing the hemp registry: unregistered hemp items subject to the registry must be off shelves.

                      Source: Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission, Hemp Rules Bulletin HE2025-01: Hemp registry compliance deadline update

                    2. Legal with limits

                      HB 4121 hemp registry took effect: cannabinoid hemp items for people or animals must be registered with the OLCC and labeled to OLCC rules before sale in Oregon, online or in person.

                      Source: Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission, Hemp Registry FAQs

                    Is CBD legal in Oregon? Full answer

                    Pennsylvania

                    Legal Min. age: Not stated · THC limit: 0.3% THC (PDA counts THCA)

                    Verified

                      Is CBD legal in Pennsylvania? Full answer

                      Rhode Island

                      Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for ingestible CBD products · THC limit: Total THC: 1 mg per serving, 5 mg per package; tinctures 100 mg

                      Verified

                      1. Legal with limits

                        The Cannabis Control Commission's final hemp rule and product guidance took effect, keeping 1 mg per serving and 5 mg per package for edibles, up to 100 mg per package for tinctures, and below 1% total THC for flower (an emergency rule had applied from July 21, 2025).

                        Source: Rhode Island Department of State, 560-RICR-10-20-1: Rhode Island Industrial Hemp Program (effective December 8, 2025)

                      2. Legal with limits

                        Hemp licensing and sales moved from the Department of Business Regulation to the Cannabis Control Commission (P.L. 2025, ch. 278).

                        Source: Rhode Island General Assembly, R.I. Gen. Laws section 2-26-5: Authority over licensing and sales

                      3. Legal with limits

                        Updated state hemp rules took effect: consumable hemp sold only by licensed hemp retailers to adults 21+, with pre-packaged edibles capped at 1 mg total THC per serving and 5 mg per package.

                        Source: Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Hemp guidance: product designations (amended March 14, 2025)

                      Is CBD legal in Rhode Island? Full answer

                      South Carolina

                      Legal Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

                      Verified

                        Is CBD legal in South Carolina? Full answer

                        South Dakota

                        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% total THC

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          (scheduled) SB 39 repeals most of the state hemp licensing program, requires USDA or tribal licensed producers to grow hemp, and keeps the delta-8, delta-10, THC-O, HHC and THCP exclusion.

                          Source: South Dakota Legislature, 2026 Senate Bill 39 (enrolled): revise provisions relating to industrial hemp

                        2. Legal with limits

                          HB 1125 took effect: making or selling hemp products with chemically derived cannabinoids such as delta-8, delta-10, THC-O, HHC and THCP became a Class 2 misdemeanor.

                          Source: South Dakota Legislature, 2024 House Bill 1125 (enrolled): ban on chemically modified or converted hemp

                        Is CBD legal in South Dakota? Full answer

                        Tennessee

                        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (delta-9 + 0.877 x THCA), dry weight

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          Legacy Department of Agriculture hemp licenses expired June 30, 2026, ending the period when those businesses stayed under the 2023 law; they now fall under TABC licensing and the 0.3% total THC limit, and from July 1 licensed retailers may buy only from TABC-licensed wholesalers.

                          Source: Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Frequently Asked Questions: Hemp FAQs

                        2. Legal with limits

                          Public Chapter 1127 added a 10% wholesale tax on inhalable liquid hemp products such as vape carts.

                          Source: Tennessee Department of Revenue, Notice 26-14: Inhalable Liquid Hemp-Derived Cannabinoid Products (Public Chapter 1127, 2026)

                        3. Legal with limits

                          Public Chapter 526 took effect: TABC took over hemp regulation, THC hemp products may only be sold in person by TABC-licensed retailers (no gas stations, no shipping or delivery to consumers), and THCA over 0.3%, THCP and synthetic cannabinoids were excluded from legal hemp products.

                          Source: Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Frequently Asked Questions: Hemp FAQs

                        Is CBD legal in Tennessee? Full answer

                        Texas

                        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9

                        Verified

                        Texas regulates hemp through its own Consumable Hemp Program, and it moved faster than the federal government: vapes in 2025, smokable hemp in March 2026, then delta-8 and THCA on Schedule I in July 2026. CBD itself stays legal for adults 21 and older.

                        1. Not legal

                          Delta-8 and other manufactured THC variants placed back in Texas Schedule I

                          Source: Texas State Law Library, CBD and delta-8 research guide

                        2. Not legal

                          DSHS rule counting THCA toward the 0.3% total THC limit took effect, which rules out nearly all smokable hemp (THCA flower, pre-rolls); a court challenge is pending

                          Source: Texas Secretary of State (Texas Register), DSHS adopted rules, March 20, 2026: total THC includes THCA

                        3. Not legal

                          Hemp vapes banned from sale

                          Source: Texas State Law Library, CBD and delta-8 research guide

                        Official sources 6

                        1. Texas DSHSConsumable Hemp ProgramLinked above
                        2. Texas State Law LibraryCBD and delta-8 research guide(opens in a new tab)
                        3. Texas DPSCompassionate Use Program(opens in a new tab)
                        4. Office of the Law Revision Counsel (uscode.house.gov)7 U.S.C. 1639o, as amended by Pub. L. 119-37 section 781Linked above
                        5. govinfo.govH.R. 6500, section 2019: delay to December 11Linked above
                        6. Texas Secretary of State (Texas Register)DSHS adopted rules, March 20, 2026: total THC includes THCA(opens in a new tab)
                        Is CBD legal in Texas? Full answer

                        Utah

                        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ · THC limit: 0.3% total THC incl. THCA; 5 mg THC per serving, 150 mg per package

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          (scheduled) S.B. 101: the tax on cannabinoid products becomes 5.3% of the retail price and UDAF may not ban sugar coating on cannabinoid products.

                          Source: Utah Legislature, S.B. 101 Specialized Product Amendments (2026 General Session, enrolled)

                        2. Legal with limits

                          H.B. 265: selling or giving an electronic cigarette that contains any cannabinoid, CBD included, becomes a crime, except lawful medical cannabis devices.

                          Source: Utah Legislature, H.B. 265 Non-nicotine Inhalation Product Amendments (2026 General Session, enrolled)

                        3. Legal with limits

                          H.B. 385: stores selling cannabinoid products need a new Specialized Product Retailer License from UDAF.

                          Source: Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, New licensing requirements now in effect for retailers selling tobacco, nicotine, kratom, and cannabinoid products

                        4. Legal with limits

                          H.B. 389: hemp retailers must check ID so buyers of cannabinoid products with THC are at least 21; the retailer video surveillance rule is dropped.

                          Source: Utah Legislature, H.B. 389 Cannabis Amendments (2026 General Session, enrolled)

                        5. Legal with limits

                          H.B. 54 names THCP, HHC and THC acetates as non-compliant material, so products containing them can't be sold.

                          Source: Utah Legislature, HB 54 (2025), enrolled

                        Is CBD legal in Utah? Full answer

                        Vermont

                        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum for most CBD; 21+ for vapes · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (THCA counts); 1.5 mg THC per serving and 10 mg per package

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          Act 178 (signed June 18, 2026; hemp sections effective on passage) moved hemp oversight to the Cannabis Control Board and requires hemp products with more than 0.4 mg THC to be registered with the Board before sale.

                          Source: Vermont General Assembly, Act 178 of 2026 (S.323), as enacted, signed June 18, 2026

                        Is CBD legal in Vermont? Full answer

                        Virginia

                        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for THC-containing and smokable hemp; no stated minimum for THC-free CBD · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (incl. THCA) and 2 mg total THC per package

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          (scheduled) Licensed retail cannabis sales begin in Virginia.

                          Source: Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Virginia's New Marijuana and Hemp Laws: What You Need to Know (July 1, 2026)

                        2. Legal with limits

                          The 25:1 CBD-to-THC exception ended: no hemp product made or sold in Virginia may hold more than 2 mg total THC per package. Hemp enforcement moved from VDACS to the Cannabis Control Authority.

                          Source: Virginia Cannabis Control Authority, Hemp Information

                        Is CBD legal in Virginia? Full answer

                        Washington

                        Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum for THC-free CBD; 21+ in cannabis stores · THC limit: No detectable THC in ingested or inhaled hemp products; 0.3% THC in topicals

                        Verified

                        1. Legal with limits

                          Liquor and Cannabis Board rules implementing E2SSB 5367 took effect: total THC testing now accounts for the conversion from acidic to neutral forms, so THCA counts.

                          Source: Washington State Register (Code Reviser), WSR 24-21-051 Permanent rules, Liquor and Cannabis Board (E2SSB 5367 implementation)

                        Is CBD legal in Washington? Full answer

                        West Virginia

                        Legal with limits Min. age: 21+ for products with hemp-derived THC cannabinoids · THC limit: 0.3% total THC

                        Verified

                          Is CBD legal in West Virginia? Full answer

                          Wisconsin

                          Legal Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% delta-9 THC by dry weight (tested after heating)

                          Verified

                          1. Legal with limits

                            Manufacturers and retailers selling a hemp vaping device not listed in the directory face a $1,000 forfeiture per day for each device.

                            Source: Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Electronic Vaping Device Directory

                          2. Legal with limits

                            Hemp vaping devices can't be sold or offered for sale in Wisconsin unless they are certified to and listed in the Department of Revenue's vaping device directory.

                            Source: Wisconsin Department of Revenue, Electronic Vaping Device Directory

                          Is CBD legal in Wisconsin? Full answer

                          Wyoming

                          Legal with limits Min. age: No state minimum · THC limit: 0.3% total THC (THCA and delta-8 counted)

                          Verified

                          1. Legal with limits

                            Wyoming's hemp definition switched to total THC measured after decarboxylation, counted delta-8 and other psychoactive THC isomers as THC, and banned synthetic substances in hemp.

                            Source: Wyoming Legislature, 2024 SF0032, Enrolled Act No. 24: Hemp and controlled substances (THC definition, synthetic substance ban)

                          Is CBD legal in Wyoming? Full answer

                          Being verified 0

                          No verdicts until each state is checked against its own official sources.

                            Want a state checked sooner? Ask us.

                            How this page stays current

                            • Official text only. Statutes, bills, the U.S. Code and state agency pages. Never another blog.
                            • Every change is dated with the day it takes effect, and every source is linked here, once, so you can check it yourself.
                            • Every state shows its last check. The date on each block is when it was last checked against its official sources.
                            • No gap-filling. A state we haven't checked says "Being verified", on this page and on the map.
                            • Spotted something newer? Tell us with a link to the source.

                            Questions

                            Why do websites disagree about CBD laws?

                            Most don't date their answers, and the rules moved a lot in 2025 and 2026. Texas alone changed three times in eleven months. Check the date and the source behind any answer, including ours.

                            How often do CBD laws change?

                            Often right now. The federal definition of hemp changes on November 12 and December 11, 2026, and states keep adding rules of their own. The date on each block shows when that state was last checked, and every change we find is logged here with its date.

                            Is delta-8 illegal on November 12 or December 11?

                            December 11 for delta-8 made from CBD. November 12 only covers cannabinoids the plant can't make at all, like THC-O. The full breakdown is in our federal hemp ban guide. Read it here.

                            General information, not legal advice. Dates are when a rule takes effect as published; check the linked text before you buy, sell or travel.